CARICAD has taken a strategic decision to expand its networking capacity. Its collaboration with various agencies and associations provide an excellent opportunity for CARICAD's work to penetrate the private and public sectors as well as civil society and the Caribbean region and beyond.

The Caribbean Community (CARICOM)

  • In 1972, Commonwealth Caribbean leaders at the Seventh Heads of Government Conference decided to transform the Caribbean Free Trade Association (CARIFTA) into a Common Market and establish the Caribbean Community, of which the Common Market would be an integral part. The signing of the Treaty establishing the Caribbean Community, Chaguaramas, 4th July 1973, was a defining moment in the history of the Commonwealth Caribbean. Although a free-trade area had been established, CARIFTA did not provide for the free movement of labour and capital, or the coordination of agricultural, industrial and foreign policies. 


Commonwealth Association for  Public Administration and Managment (CAPAM)

  • CAPAM is a non-profit membership based organisation that connects a global network of public service practitioners, academics and organisations across fifty-three Commonwealth nations and beyond

 Commonwealth Foundation

  • The Commonwealth Foundation is an intergovernmental organisation, resourced by and reporting to Commonwealth governments, and guided by Commonwealth values and priorities.

Department for International Development (DFID)

  • The UK Government’s responsibility for the development of its colonies on a continuing basis was first recognised in 1929 by the Colonial Development Act. Under this Act the amount voted by Parliament in any one year, over a period of ten years, was not to exceed £1 million. In 1961 a Department of Technical Co-operation was established to deal with the technical co-operation side of the aid programme.The Ministry of Overseas Development was first set up as a separate ministry in October 1964 headed by a Minister of Overseas Development. It brought together the functions of the former Department of Technical Co-operation and the overseas aid policy functions of the Foreign, Commonwealth Relations and Colonial Offices and of other government departments.

Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)

  • UNECLAC or ECLAC) was established in 1948 (then as the UN Economic Commission for Latin America, or UNECLA) to encourage economic cooperation among its member states. In 1984, a resolution was passed to include the countries of the Caribbean in the name. It is one of five regional commissions under the administrative direction of United Nations headquarters. The ECLAC has 44 member States and eight non-independent territories in the Caribbean, and reports to the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). As well as countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, it includes Canada, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, the United Kingdom, the United States, Japan and South Korea

European Centre for Deveopment Policy Management (ECDPM)

  • ECDPM deals with the policies that govern relations between the European Union and African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries. The Development Cooperation and Capacity programme aims to improve the interface between the EU, partner countries and other donors, and to strengthen the capacity of organisations and institutions

International Labour Organisation (ILO)

  • The International Labour Organization (ILO) is the tripartite UN agency that brings together governments, employers and workers of its member states in common action to promote decent work throughout the world. more



Subscribe to CARICAD's e-newsletter



Copyright © 2016 CARICAD - Caribbean Centre for Development Administration All Rights Reserved.